Things I Learned From Movies: Don’t End Up Like Uncle Rico.

Soooo, I met a guy.
Soooo, I met a guy.

The last couple of days I’ve been so tired that I have been dizzy, my eyes have itched so bad they got swollen and my brain hurt.

I got married
I got married

But, I’m happy. I wouldn’t change it for anything.

and somehow he doesn't care what I'm like when I'm pregneato....
I got pregnant.

Because being a mom is so awesome.

I'm a mom!!
I had a baby!

Last night a friend and I were talking about our to-do lists that we never get around to accomplishing…and how we are learning to overcome our obsessive need to have our homes spotless every day.

He is a great daddy
He is a great daddy

we both have small children.

My baby kept eating, and pooping and eating and sleeping and pooping and somewhere along the way he kept growing!
My baby kept eating, and pooping and eating and sleeping and pooping and somewhere along the way he kept growing!

Over the last two years I have been learning to enjoy the moment, rather than wishing for the future to hurry up and “get here already.”

AH, his hair fell out and grew in weird and we made him use a pacifier that looks like a mustache. Six months
AH, his hair fell out and grew in weird and we made him use a pacifier that looks like a mustache. Six months

As a teenager, I couldn’t wait to grow up! Driver license, college, a ‘real’ job, someday marriage and maybe kids…most of all I just wanted to be old enough to travel on a whim.

Tenant and babe

I ended up falling in love (to the most attractive man in the whole wide world), and getting pregnant right away.

DSC_0748

Needless to say, I was counting down the days when I could get on with my life and get my body back.

He started walking!
He started walking!

Boy did I wish a lot of things at the time…instead of living in the moment.

DSC_1091

After the first baby arrived I thought I would never fit back into my old clothes and obsessed over my weight the first month or two.

Went camping for the first time!
Went camping for the first time!

But over the first year of being a new mom I slowly let go of my weight obsession because I was so in love with my new baby…

DSC_1343

and in a blink that new baby turned one…

My littler milk sucker.
My little milk sucker.

where did the time go?

DSC_1687

My baby was almost two and I was pregnant again!

P1000056

I’m so glad that I took the time to photograph life along the way and that I started a blog.

P1000341

I’m so glad that I took the time to pack up the baby and the stroller for a family-bound road trip.

Nona and Grandbo
Nona and Grandbo

I’m glad I took our little boy camping.

My oldest brother is really great with the baby.
My oldest brother is really great with the baby.

I’m glad I did all those things I did that seemed like a lot of work at the time –

"Ishing" just like Daddy, Grandbo and Papa!
“Ishing” just like Daddy, Grandbo and Papa!

and learned to live in the moment –

My guys.
My guys.

so I don’t have to turn out like Uncle Rico (from the movie Napoleon Dynamite).

DSC_0264

I wont look back on my life and wish I had organized the craft supplies better or painted that old microwave stand in the kitchen… or what ever else is on my to-do list…

P1000597

I’m going to look back on my life and remember all those small moments with my children, my grandparents, my cousins, my friends.

DSC_0579
Wiley and his Grandad

Isn’t it nice how we forget all the hard things in life, when we can look back on all the sweet things?

DSC_0776

Seize the Carp out of every day folks.

Yes, that says Carp, it’s a play on words ya’ll.

Leave a Reply

