Why it may be okay to embarrass your teenaged children…

Shelter Gardens
Shelter Gardens – baby was two weeks old and I had just given Danny a hair cut that he deemed to short…well, the good news is, it grows back.

My two year old can be so sweet to his dad and I – he loves to give hugs and kisses – he loves high-fives and snuggling.

My cute sister and her husband came for a, very brief, visit.
My cute sister and her husband came for a, very brief, visit.

It is so sweet to see how much Wiley loves his new brother too.

Klara took over my camera for awhile.
Klara took over my camera for awhile.

Wiley will hug and kiss that little baby all day long.

Brother in law with two of my nephews - awe.
Brother in law with two of my nephews – both victims of Wiley’s aggression.

But in between all those hugs and kisses, a raging two year old tantrum-bully exists.

running off steam...
running off steam…

When we are with friends, family or around other small children – the bully comes out.

two weeks post birth
two weeks post birth – only 24 months from another toddler in my life – whoo hoo!

Where do toddlers keep the On and Off switch?

They don't stay two forever - which - is also kinda sad.
They don’t stay two forever – which – is also kinda sad, because the cute things they say and do are SO cute too.

Why he would hit a cute 7 month old baby girl on the head, with a toy plane, is beyond me…

DSC_0365

and that 1 year old girl was just standing next to her mommy, when my son ran by and pushed her down…three separate times.

DSC_0375

Yesterday he got kicked out of our church nursery, for the third time this year, for trying to scratch another child (previous offenses for biting).

funny faces
funny faces

Today the tantrums started – the moment – I went in his room to get him out of bed.

Yes, that's my child climbing on the fence that says, "no climbing"
Yes, that’s my child climbing on the fence that says, “no climbing”

“Morning Wiley”

His three year old cousin is good at following directions, "come on Wiley."
His three year old cousin is good at following directions, “come on Wiley.”

get OUT! Go away!”

DSC_0404

I left his room (obviously he wanted more time to himself…) but, the second I left he screamed and wailed for my return.

This sweet guy gets pushed around quite a bit...by his cousin Wiley and his four older siblings. Poor guy, He'll get the last laugh some day, I just know it!
Danny took this photo:  This sweet guy gets pushed around quite a bit…by his cousin Wiley and his four older siblings. Poor guy, He’ll get the last laugh some day, I just know it!

REPEAT three or four times.

Danny photo.
Danny photo.

the fourth time I just sat in his bedroom doorway and listened as he screamed for me to leave. When he stopped screaming, I told him I loved him.

Danny photo
Danny photo

I mean, he is tried me many a time the last few months, but this behavior was totally foreign to me.

DSCN2278

When I finally got him out of bed to change his diaper – the tantrum continued – the internal conflict of whether or not he wanted out of the peed diaper from over night.

After a morning of tears, from being bullied, these two were best buds at the part. So, it's good to see that things change.
After a morning of tears, with Wiley being the aggressor, these two were best buds at the park. So, it’s good to see that things change.

When the diaper crisis ended, Wiley whined over what he wanted to eat and which toys he wanted me to hand him.

Love the boys in my life.
Love the boys in my life.

Dad got home from school, to eat lunch, and it was his turn to witness the epic meltdown over what nature video Wiley wanted to watch and whether or not he wanted to eat popcorn with his nature video.

Being outdoors is, kind of, his favorite.
Being outdoors is, kind of, their favorite.

It was during the popcorn meltdown, that I decided, years from now this two year old boy would be a teenaged boy and will probably die with embarrassment over his mother’s behavior in front of his friends (and someday girlfriends…he he he).

This is one of Danny's favorite pictures he's taken of Wiley.
This is one of Danny’s favorite pictures he’s taken of Wiley.

I will relish every “embarrassing moment” that teenaged Wiley goes through, because darn it, I earned them.

remember Wiley, I OWE YOU. 🙂

Love, Mommy.

Leave a Reply

