Family photos: with and without my uni-brow

Last weekend was the Trunk or Treat (why do they call it Trunk or Treat? What does the Trunk option involve?) for the Highlands Ward.

I’m always excited to dress up – and I generally go for the more intellectual costume ideas – I play a generic housewife in every day life with my sweat pants and greasy hair, so a generic costume idea is totally out for me.

Why yes, I am ridiculous, why do you ask?
Why yes, I am ridiculous, why do you ask? Flashback to 2009!

remember the year I went as Gold? Like, Au… 79 Protons? YES! From the Periodic Table!!!

Artists, art gallery?
Artists, art gallery?

So, this year, everyone in my family was a famous artist.

Danny, kinda, started the idea by saying months ago that he wanted to be Bob Ross for Halloween.

I recreated some famous paintings with sharpie.
I recreated some famous paintings with sharpie. Wiley did an original in the upper R corner.

Originally I thought, “hey the rest of us can be Happy Little Trees,” but that just didn’t satisfy my hubristic need to be different than the other costumed families on the internet.

Hardly anyone guessed who this guy was...
Hardly anyone guessed who this guy was…

So the two and a half year old was Vincent Van Gogh.

Guess who?
Guess who?

I can’t believe we got him to keep a bandage on his head all night! I’m so glad he is still too young to care about what his costume is.

Starry Starry Night???
Starry Starry Night???

The baby was Picasso. I considered going as a French woman, since I would be holding the baby all night (because Pablo loved the French ladies), but just because history was dicey, doesn’t mean our family costume had to be.

Even with the ear bandage and one of his most famous paintings, Van Gogh large went unrecognized...much like the real guy. :(
Even with the ear bandage and one of his most famous paintings and a red beard, Wiley Van Gogh largely went unrecognized…much like Vincent did in life. 😦

Besides, we all had to be artists.

Who's that cute little guy?
Who’s that cute little guy?

I went as Frida Kahlo (hence the unibrow) I had smudged a bit of dark eyeshadow on my upper lip, but before we left the house, my husband told me it was weirding him out…what a party pooper.

DSCN3069
I passed out candy with some 1920’s JAZZ playing.

The uni-brow was weirding him out too.

DSCN3075
I painted Pablo’s Peace Dove onto a onesie for Tyler and threw on the scarf – Whaa-lah!

According to him I was “ruining one of my best features.” So touched, was I, that I removed my fake stache to please him. I couldn’t remove the uni-brow, because then I would just be another pretty face in a Mexican blouse!

Where we the best family costume that night? Not even close! We had Lego people, Gru, Lucy and some minions and Cruella  with some Dalmatians...to name a few.
Were we the best family costume that night? Not even close! We had Lego people (her website HERE!), Gru, Lucy and some minions and Cruella with some Dalmatians…to name a few.

I was really impressed how many people recognized my costume!

It was the perfect night for a Ward party!
It was the perfect night for a Ward party!

We had a lot of fun with the Ward that night and when we got home, Danny pulled out his camera to look at the pictures we took.

He looked over at me and said, “our first family photo together has you with a uni-brow in it.”

Does the remote work (first time to use it!)?!
Does the remote work (first time to use it!)?!

That’s when I reminded him that our first family photo was taken weeks ago…

Did someone forget to focus the lens first??
Did someone forget to focus the lens first??
Someone should have listened to her husband...
Someone should have listened to her husband…

I’m so glad I can laugh at myself.

Leave a Reply

