Not just any Tuesday – It’s Tuesday November 11th

Dad has said that because of my mom and me, his Admiral always liked him.
Dad has said that because of my mom and me, his Admiral always liked him. I’m pictured third from Right. Circa 1992.

Tomorrow night at 7, the women’s organization from my church (The Relief Society) will meet at a nearby nursing home for a Veteran’s Day celebration.

My Dad in Kenya - He was in the Navy...
My Dad in Kenya – He was in the Navy…1980 something.

I’m so excited to sing patriotic songs with the residents and paint some finger nails – although any time is a good time to visit a nursing home – I have always felt strongly about honoring veterans.

Auntie C, this is the only photo I had of you in uniform!
Auntie C, this is the only photo I had of you in uniform! Pictured here with my beautiful Nana.
Grandad joined the Army at 17, but I can't remember his age here.
Grandad joined the Army at 17, but I can’t remember his age here.
Grandad aged 23 on his wedding day.
After his Army days were over, Grandad joined the airforce; here his is, aged 23, on his wedding day.

I’ll leave it to George Washington:

The time is now near at hand which must probably determine weather Americans are to be freemen or slaves; whether they are to have any property they can call their own; whether their houses and farms are to be pillaged and destroyed, and themselves consigned to a state of wretchedness from which no human effort will deliver them. The fate of unborn millions will now depend, under God, on the courage and conduct of this army. Our cruel and unrelenting enemy leaves us only the choice of brave resistance, or the most abject submission. We have therefore to resolve to conquer or die.                            

George Washington

Original from: http://www.foundingfatherquotes.com

Great Grandad was a British citizen, but he is a Veteran as well! Pictured here with Nana on her wedding day.
Great Grandad was a British citizen, but he is a veteran as well! Pictured here with my Nana on her wedding day.

I was fortunate to be raised as a Navy Brat.

My Dad's parents. Nana is 16 years old!!!
My Dad’s parents. Nana is 16 years old!!!

I miss the tight-knit military family life, military families are pretty special.

Cousin Max at his brother's funeral.
Cousin Max at his brother’s funeral. 

To those far away from home today, serving this nation, come home safe.

Making his mother proud every damn day.
Making his mother proud – every day. REST in peace Rex.

Happy Veteran’s Day to those who served, for those who (like my mother) held down the home fort and to those who (like myself) honor them.

The Patriot Guard of Oklahoma - what a special crew!
The Patriot Guard of Oklahoma – what a special crew!

and special hugs to the Gold Star families that live with a piece of their heart buried in sacred ground.

Leave a Reply

