Made for each other…

You know, I can think of a lot of good things that make my husband and I compatible…this post isn’t about one of them.

I’ve learned to cope with hunting season, I enjoy eating deer meat, but I still get the hibbie jibbies around dead animal skin.

Animal pelts…eh.

Out at my parent's, Wiley gets a ride on a backhoe!
Out at my parent’s, Wiley gets a ride on a backhoe!

For years Danny has talked about making a squirrel skin hat for our son Wiley –

yes, I said SQUIRREL skin hat –

and it began while Danny was practicing for bow season (bowhunting). He caught a squirrel on the run with an arrow. He skinned it, cleaned it and tanned it.

Wiley was in LITTLEman heaven.
Wiley was in LITTLEman heaven.

“Where is the salt, Danny?” “What did you do with the baking soda?”

Someone from my church came over to pick something up last Monday and a squirrel skin was tacked up to a board sitting in the sunshine on our front porch…

That’s not the part that grossed me out ya’ll…

DSC_0175

“Danny, what did you do with my dish soap?” He comes strolling through my kitchen with “something” inside a large plastic pitcher, which he is about to fill with hot water.

Well, if my kid is going to wear it (GAG!) then it ought to be cleaned.

my parents needed their driveway fixed.
my parents needed their driveway fixed.

It was the sound of the dryer that made me suspicious – my husband doesn’t do laundry – and I hadn’t put in a load.

Happy, happy, happy.
Happy, happy, happy.

The next day I asked him if he put that squirrel pelt in my dryer.

“Yes” he answered, “but I wrapped it in something.”

Later that day I was moving my wet clothes from the washer into the dryer, I opened the dryer and a lone beach towel lay in the bottom.

I pulled the beach towel out and threw it on the ground, it was going to be washed again. “No other women I know has to live like this – sharing their dryers with animal pelts!”

My brother Kamron with Wiley.
My brother Kamron with Wiley.

I’m just lucky, I guess.

I found Danny after I moved the load, I raised my eyebrows, “you wrapped the squirrel in the beach towel, didn’t you?” I stated.

He smiled, “yeah.”

Danny has a beautiful smile.

Leave a Reply

