I’ll Go Where You Want Me To Go.

Grandparents and my college roommates.
Grandparents and my college roommates.

By the time I was finishing my last semester at The University of Tulsa, I felt like my life had even more questions than when I had started college.

I knew my life had purpose, but I was still trying to figure out what that was.

My little brother took this photo of me with my parents...he has since become great at photography. Maybe it was his height?
My little brother took this photo of me with my parents…he has since become great at photography. Maybe it was his height?

Late July of 2005 I had moved out to Provo, Utah and started a graduate assistantship. Tulsa had an outstanding athletic training program with excellent professors, so in addition to having all these life questions, I had a really difficult time adjusting to the new program I started working with.

I said goodbye to long hours laboring in a garden I would miss.
I said goodbye to long hours laboring in a garden I would miss.

I probably stepped on some toes, hurt some feelings and left a broken heart.

With all the stress I was allowing to affect me, I was getting sick…really sick. I was eating healthy and exercising, so I was stressing about being sick.

Getting ready to move to Utah and into my pregnant sister and bro-in-law's apartment.
Getting ready to move to Utah and into my pregnant sister and bro-in-law’s apartment.

Now imagine me getting chewed out by the director of Sports Medicine, twice.

After work, I took my very pregnant sister on a drive through the canyon.
After work, I took my very pregnant sister on a drive through the canyon. Near Sundance ski resort.

I desperately wanted to be where He wanted me to be and Do what He wanted me to do…why did my life have so many trials?

see? Very pregnant sister. Baby came about two weeks later.
see? Very pregnant sister. Baby came about two weeks later.

I don’t feel like it was just a coincidence that I repeatedly heard the hymn, “I’ll Go Where You Want Me To Go (LDS Hymn #270)” during church meetings/activities.

Baby came and happily cuddled with me in my messy room...I was getting ready to move.
Baby came and happily cuddled with me in my messy room…I was getting ready to move.

I am a prayerful person, always have been and I felt really strongly about being where I was and I didn’t understand why. Throughout all these experiences I had some really profound moments and met some very lovely people. Although there were many times that I felt alone (even with a roommate in the next room, I was learning how to be a better person. I was learning how to trust the Lord. I was being refined.

I was so happy to watch her grow!
I was so happy to watch her grow!

With hindsight, I can look back and appreciate what I went through and actually feel grateful.

Took trips with friends.
Took trips with friends.

Ezra Taft Benson once said (and I’m sure countless others) that, “the great test of life is obedience to God. The great task of life is to learn the will of the Lord and then do it. The great commandment of life is to love the Lord (teachings of ETB).”

This little girl just turned nine!!!
This little girl just turned nine!!!

I hope that this year I can continue to do my best in following the counsel of President Benson and although trials come, they always come, I hope that I can continue to look to God and live.

I hope by doing that, that I will be successful in achieving my dreams.

 

 

Leave a Reply

