DIY: Table and chair up-cycle (which I did last year…but my sister wanted the deets).

ah, the other side of the living room. This is right after the dog decided to jump onto and then off of the table - knocking everything off and pushing it closer to the window. Yeah, we have stuff to hang on the window, but I have some sewing to do on it.
ah, right after we moved in and I’m mid-way through my first tri-mester…and I had to look at this all day long from my perch on the couch. I had plenty of time to think about what I wanted to do with it!

Last year, when I was in my first trimester of pregnancy, I decided I couldn’t stand looking at the table anymore.

Our rental house was entirely white trimmed, so we bought white curtain rods to match. I figured my husband and I could give the table a face-lift rather quickly working together.

My well meaning husband tried to hand plane this old piece of pine...leaving craters all over the top of the table. :(
My well meaning husband tried to hand plane this old piece of particle board…leaving craters all over the top of the table. 😦 don’t hand plane old particle board…sanding is about the only thing you can do.

Well, Danny dismantled it and helped me to sand it before the school semester got too busy.

So, after I painted the table, I put wood filler in the craters and sanded it down.
So, after I primed the table, I put wood filler in the craters and sanded it down. I primed table and four chairs.

We started the project in March.

I used a five dollar can of "tester" paint to coat all four chairs.
I used a five dollar can of “tester” paint to coat all four chairs. The LDS sister missionaries, looking for service on a cold March day, helped me to prime the chairs – so I fed them. Good trade, seeing as how we had to eat too!

I got this thing completely finished July 2nd.

Look at the difference in the white paint in the light!!! So much brighter and now it matches the trim in the house!
Look at the difference in the white paint in the light!!! So much brighter and now it matches the trim in the house! This is while I was drying the clear coat of water based polyurethane.

Oh well, I was pregnant.

I got the chair fabric (duck cloth? and vinyl) on sale at Hobby Lobby and stapled the new fabric right over the existing vinyl with quarter inch staples. ($12)

So glad the hard part is over!
So glad the hard part is over!

Where did I get the well loved table? From my sister Klara, who got it free from someone else. I really love this table and won’t be getting rid of it anytime soon; but, I see many more face-lifts in the future!

***I just got around to finishing a quilt I started (and mostly completed) with my mother in law over Christmas 2013. Pictures to follow with the quilt too.

One thought on “DIY: Table and chair up-cycle (which I did last year…but my sister wanted the deets).

Leave a Reply

