Working toward World Peace during my adventures in parenting a toddler, plus baby.

Snow days
Snow days

My two year old Wiley has been interesting lately. I understand why some people turn to alcohol…it might make days like today seem more tolerable.

I practiced my skills for patience, long suffering, charity and faith.

He was too excited to look at the camera.
He was too excited to look at the camera.

With each tantrum I talked myself into waiting patiently for the screaming to halt before I spoke, in a soft voice, and resisted the urge to put him in time out.

Time-outs aren’t always the answer; even if it might make me feel better.

DSC_0507

What I don’t understand is why my two year old is screaming.

Which got me thinking about people in general.

I think I bribed him with chocolate, or something, to go inside - I was getting cold!
I think I bribed him with chocolate, or something, to go inside – I was getting cold!

What if I started applying the skills I’m learning from being a parent to the rest of the people in the world (maybe I already have…)?

Cleaning the snow from his boots - it's so cute what kids pick up from parents.
Cleaning the snow from his boots – it’s so cute what kids pick up from parents.

What if I was slow to anger, quick to listen, chose love first, resisted the urge to punish, found a replacement to lecture?

DSC_0518

I want peace in this time, I want peace now.

Speaking of peace, this kid is the epitome of peace.
Speaking of peace, this kid is the epitome of peace.

Valentine’s Day this year was the end of a very long streak of stresses, illness and emotional burn out…

Valentines was also the day I remembered to find humor in life, because I wanted to be happy.

He just turned 6 months.
He just turned 6 months.

The timing worked out really great, because it was the beginning of a week of blow-out diapers from both children.

Picture me in the store REI, trying to change a diaper (with ‘stuff’ running down Wiley’s leg), I have that ‘stuff’ all over the diamonds in my ring.  There was also ‘stuff’ getting on the floor of the store. Wiley was wiggling around and smearing more ‘stuff’ – I may have said a word that only belongs in a toilet – which my two year old promptly repeated.

DSC_0561

That’s when I knew I needed to change, a real change to, my approach in how I faced problems in life.

Wiley got a bath in the REI bathroom sink and I learned to find the humor to our situation. Humor can go a long way in (literally) a crappy situation or any kind of situation.

He was kinda over the picture taking by now.
He was kinda over the picture taking by now.

So, I have had ample opportunities since Valentine’s Day to practice my goal to improve charity, long suffering, patience and faith.

I did not pick up drinking today. I just reminded myself that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Philippians 4:13), including smile in the face of opposition.

DSC_0534
WHat?? Opposition??

If I can’t achieve peace in the walls of my own home first, then I’ll be hard pressed to make peace in the world.

Leave a Reply

