So glad my husband saves everything.

Every now and then I go through my husband’s boxes and say, “do you really need this? ’cause I want to throw it away…” I frequently go through and toss out my own things. Sometimes… I throw away things I didn’t mean to throw away.

My mother-in-law (Nona) loves quilting. Which is great, because she has shared that love with me.
My mother-in-law (Nona) loves quilting. Which is great, because she has shared that love with me. I found the snakeskin patterned material a month before I headed to Texas and it is so soft.

Like today, I kept thinking, “I’m pretty sure I ordered a 8X12 photo of the baby, why hasn’t it shown up yet?” When I checked my email, I discovered it came in the mail already with another photo I ordered and the 8X12 was still wrapped and inside the box waiting to go out with the recycle. Well, that wouldn’t be the only photo I misplaced.

Sometime in January I was organizing my digital photos into folders on my external hard drive.

Nona and her fancy sewing machine.
Nona and her fancy sewing machine. Nona put the tiny binding on, because I was messing the binding up…and super sick from being pregnant.

I was very meticulous about making sure everything was on my hard drive before I deleted it from my SD cards. Everything got saved, except the photos from December 2013, Christmas in Texas with my husband’s family.

When I got to Texas for Christmas break, Nona bought the fabric for the other side and the batting as part of my Christmas present.
When I got to Texas for Christmas break, Nona bought the fabric for the other side and the batting as part of my Christmas present. That stuff ain’t cheap!

I went looking for those photos because I wanted to blog about finishing the quilt my mother-in-law helped me make. They were no-where to be found. I started having anxiety. I checked every SD card, external hard drive (every folder within = a lot of folders), and it was gone. GONE!

Wiley watched at least 2 movies that afternoon, so we could keep him out of trouble. I was grateful Papa and Gregre helped keep him entertained as well. So grateful for family.
Wiley watched at least 2 movies that afternoon, so we could keep him out of trouble. I was grateful Papa and Gregre helped keep him entertained as well. So grateful for family.

I felt sick to my stomach. The four generation photos were in there! I do have a few blog posts with some of those photos, but I needed the originals for the digital scrapbooks I am putting together. Last night I was going through my husband’s external hard drive looking for a different photo and found a folder, within a folder, within a folder named, “Katie’s Photos.”

I think Nona spotted this material, isn't it darling?? I love it! We also ended up being a bit short on the binding material, so I said I would by more binding and finish it when I got home.
I think Nona spotted this material, isn’t it darling?? I love it! We also ended up being a bit short on the binding material, so I said I would buy more binding and finish it when I got home.

Lo and behold, THE LOST PHOTOS from December 2013. My husband, who makes copies of copies, had saved those photos!

Since I was very sick and pregnant, and then busy with a new baby, the blanket was finished in February of this year (2015)...I decided the orange binding that was larger was super cute. So the top and bottom are Orange and the two sides are bound in a grey color. It is finally done. I have so many plans for future quilts...
Since I was very sick and pregnant, and then busy with a new baby, the blanket was finished in February of this year (2015)…I decided the orange binding that was larger was super cute. So the top and bottom are Orange and the two sides are bound in a grey color. It is finally done. I have so many plans for future quilts…

It was a happy moment of gratitude that my husband saves everything… Danny saves the day, again!

Leave a Reply

