How Some People Live..Not ‘me’ people, but some people.

Wiley spent the first two years of his life on a ranch, but in the last year our lives have been very suburban and it’s easy to forget our country life.

Papa and Gregre have lots of kids...baby goats.
Papa and Gregre have lots of kids…baby goats.

Replaced are the early morning sounds of the rooster, cows and baaing sheep. I’m now bothered by large trucks zipping by or cars blaring awful music that occasionally threatens to shatter my windows.

20150325_151854

It’s not coyotes that howl late at night, it’s college kids racing their crotch-rockets.

20150325_151855

The life I’m living now is so far from what I had as a child growing up…from what I can remember.  I wonder how much of this my children will remember?

Texas Longhorn
Texas Longhorn

So getting away for spring break was perfect for lots of reasons, first to see family and second to escape the city.

His name is pronounced "Bo-Sea-Fus"
His name is pronounced “Bo-Sea-Fus”

We stayed with Danny’s Papa and Gregre (the grandparents who looked like Barbie and Ken) and we got to watch silent film of when my mother in law was a toddler!!

T-Rock soaking in the rays...or what rays he can get in the shade.
T-Rock soaking in the rays…or what rays he can get in the shade.

Wiley got to play freely outdoors – free to dump sand in his hair – any time I couldn’t find him, Papa would say, “did you look in the sand?” (Which Wiley called the beach) that was right outside the door.

20150325_135758

Wiley was always playing in the sand when he could.

One afternoon, my in-laws took us out to see the property they purchased. They bought a huge plot of untouched land in the middle of a “sub-division”… not the typical sub-division you’re thinking of or living in.

large black doors on Right is the airplane hanger. Garage and house on left side of building.  Grass airstrip in front of the "house."
large black doors on Right is the airplane hanger. Garage and house on left side of building. Grass airstrip in front of the “house.” Open plot to the right of this is my In-laws…as is the forest of trees in the back of photo.

This “neighborhood” consists of “homes” that are mostly airplane hanger with a garage/house attached.

20150325_140050A beautiful grass airstrip makes up the majority of everyone’s front yard, where old guys go pleasure cruising…in their planes, not classic cars.

We enjoyed the park while Daddy and Grambo took arial photos of the new property.
We enjoyed the park while Daddy and Grambo took arial photos of the new property.

We had been in the neighborhood about twenty minutes when a plane pulls out of it’s hanger, taxis about and takes off (maybe) 40 yards in front of us.

I’m waving at the pilot as the plane lifts off the ground right in front of me and he waves back, like he’s in Mayberry…full of planes.

Another perfect day.
Another perfect day.

What the heck? People actually live like this?

They do! And if my father in law gets his dream, he will too and my kids will experience this type of thing on a regular basis.

One of the awesome parts of marriage is you get to experience ways of living that never existed before your partner came into your life.

I’m so blessed and grateful for my life and my family…and so sad that spring break is over already. Take US back!!

Leave a Reply

