Just Another Year In Paradise…It’s been Four So Far.

We have been enjoying the rain here in Missouri.
We have been enjoying the rain here in Missouri.

Today I slept in till 9:15am, while my husband took care of the kids…

20150701_195959

It wasn’t until 9:30 that I heard the sound of the tub and wondered how long it would take for my husband to fetch me…

Daddy and Wiley enjoying Oreos. Doggy begging for a bite.
Daddy and Wiley enjoying Oreos. Doggy begging for a bite.

The sound of the tub in the morning means all the baby bedding needs to be washed in addition to the baby.

Water sounds were followed by a screaming three year old.

10 months old and already a professional mess maker.
10 months old and already a professional mess maker.

“Happy Anniversary,” I said to myself.

Here we are, married four years and I’m on my fourth pregnancy (having had a miscarriage), resulting in two kids and baby due in November of this year.

17 weeks pregnant (three weeks ago...) after a day at the lake.
17 weeks pregnant (three weeks ago…) after a day at the lake.

It figures that our morning would go wonky today…I stayed up way too late reading Pride and Prejudice. It was so late, that I was at the part near the end where Elizabeth, on her walk with Darcy, says “do not repeat what I said…” after Darcy says how her words haunted him, “had I behaved in a more gentlemanly like manner…”

That blue goo is called FLARP - you can find it at Michael's craft store for $1. It will bring your toddler HOURS of entertainment for an entire week. Then you buy more. Mother's Serenity for ONE whole dollar.
That blue goo is called FLARP – you can find it at Michael’s craft store for $1. It will bring your toddler HOURS of entertainment for an entire week. Then you buy more. Mother’s Serenity for ONE whole dollar.

Yeah, I was so tired, it was so late, that’s when I put my book down.

Day One of FLARP happiness.
Day One of FLARP happiness.

So, it’s only fair my morning start off with laundry before breakfast.

20150702_134735

Danny stayed home with the boys this morning, while I took care of the vehicle and ran errands around town. So romantic, someday I’ll have to base a best selling novel from it.

Perfect for recreating the dinosaur age.
Perfect for recreating the tar pits of dinosaur age.

Tonight, we are having a small family over for dinner. On Sunday, when I made the dinner appointment, it didn’t register that “Thursday this week” was my anniversary.

Daddy builds the bounce house...
Daddy builds the bounce house…

But this is real life.

Climbing, tumbling and laughing.
Climbing, tumbling and laughing.

Most couples don’t spend lavish weekends away from home or buy each other expensive gifts.

I call a night out alone with my husband, “lavish,” even if it is eating tacos.

Two weeks ago some friends of ours watched the boys (for FREE!) so we could have a date.

20150709_143424

I chose a restaurant called 44 Stone Public House – they have outdoor seating (which we enjoyed immensely) – Danny tried his first Welsh Rarebit.  Their Fish and Chips are not as good as the real ones found in UK, but I think I could go back for more of the Welsh Rarebit.

Cold leftovers for lunch - typical.
Cold leftovers for lunch – typical – enchiladas, not great cold.

Our life is good, it’s happy, it’s stressful, it’s…the family life.

Our fruit eating Monkey.
Our fruit eating Monkey.

I say, ‘high-five’ for making it four years, through four pregnancies, two moves, three schools and multiple jobs.

Wonder what life after pregnancy looks like?

One thought on “Just Another Year In Paradise…It’s been Four So Far.

  1. You are doing great! And speaking from 11 years, 8 pregnancies and 7 kiddos later … “It gets better!”

Leave a Reply

