Dear Texas, ‘We’ve lost that Lovin’ Feeling.’

As a family, we stayed in south Texas for three weeks.

It was hot – very hot.

The months and weeks leading up to our visit, Danny and I would talk about future plans for him taking a job closer to extended family.  Our children would get to play with their cousins on a regular basis.

Day at the pool can ease the heat...if you get to stay in the water.
Day at the pool can ease the heat…if you get to stay in the water.

Well, we’ve changed our mind.

(Did it get below 100 the entire time we were there? I’m not talking the 89 degrees – with humidity – it dropped to around 9pm)

The first morning we were there, my sister and her kids and Danny with our kids went to the park at 10am.

Baby pool with cousins.
Baby pool with cousins.

It was already so hot, after 10 minutes I had sweat dripping from my face.

Before we left Missouri, in a state of confusion, I insisted Danny pack the double stroller – I wanted to take walks.

That double stroller sat in my sister’s kitchen the entire three weeks – I did utilize it as a clothing/bedding drying rack – no walks were taken.

My nephew.
My nephew, playing a pirate.

The best Internet MEME I saw all summer (posted by Matt M.), “It’s so hot in Texas, I just saw two hobbits throw a ring in my backyard.”

Don't be deceived by this smiling face, this kid turns Hulk in zero to 10 seconds.
Don’t be deceived by this smiling face, this kid turns Hulk in zero to 10 seconds.

I’m grateful for our family who live in Texas, I’m grateful for HEB’s, for really good Latin food on every corner and the awesome people I know who live there…but, we won’t be moving back…ever…if we have any say in the matter.

DSC_0891

Our return trips to Texas will be limited to Spring or Fall.

Big pool - Our 'Nona' swimming with the big kids.
Big pool – Our ‘Nona’ swimming with the big kids.

We arrived home in Columbia, Missouri on August 12th at 10:30pm, the temperature outside was 75 degrees. When I drove to my OB appointment at 10:15am on August 13th, I drove there with the windows down, because the weather was so beautiful.

A brother in law was working near by and stopped to eat lunch with us.
A brother in law was working near by and stopped in to eat lunch with us.

Today’s high? 88 degrees F.

So, the weather is nice, my OB said my Cervix was nice and tight (if that is TMI, then remind yourself that this blog is written by a woman, a pregnant woman who went to the hospital a few weeks ago for premature labor) and we have food on our shelves.  There are a lot of people who don’t have enough food to eat.

DSC_0908

Life is good.

These two, best friends and best sparring partners.
These two, best friends and best sparring partners.

Special thanks to The Righteous Brothers for penning a catchy song, “Unchained Melody,” that inspired my post and for the movie Top Gun – because it is awesome.

Enough fun, let's get out of the heat.
Enough fun, let’s get out of the heat.

Leave a Reply

