“When things go wrong as they sometimes will…”

Family that gathered in Tulsa for Grampa and Gramma. So much love.
Family that gathered in Tulsa for Grampa and Gramma. So much love. Taken at the funeral home following this service.

My aunt Julie read a poem at Grampa’s funeral, one that he had found in a newspaper years ago and one that he shared with many, that was a much needed reminder to me – in many ways.

I have saved the xeroxed copy Grampa gave to me and I wanted to share it with you.

“Don’t Quit:

When things go wrong as they sometimes will, when the road you’re trudging seems all uphill

When the funds are low and the debts are high, and you want to smile, but you have to sigh,

20151009_212114
Potty training…a boy who has no interest in potty training.

When care is pressing you down a bit – Rest if you must, but don’t quit.

Life is queer with it’s twist and turns, as everyone of us sometimes learns,

He also doesn't like to wear diapers...
He also doesn’t like to wear diapers…

And many a fellow turns about, When he might have won had he stuck it out.

Don’t give up though the pace seems slow – you may succeed with another blow.

One week I started to intermittently got hives...on all my arms and legs...and bum.
One week I started to intermittently get hives…on my arms,legs and bum.

Often the goal is nearer than, it seems to a faint and faltering man.

Often the struggler has given up, When he might have captured the victor’s cup,

Still not quite sure why I got hives. They came and went throughout each day for a week...whilst we all had colds.
Still not quite sure why I got hives. They came and went throughout each day for a week…whilst we all had colds.

And he learned too late when the night slipped down…how close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out – the silver tint to the clouds of doubt.

The boys get a bit wild - tearing down my window curtains and peeing on my furniture.
The boys get a bit wild – tearing down my window curtains and peeing on my furniture.

And you never can tell how close you are, It may be near when it seems so far,

So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit – It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit.

-Author Unknown”

I can get dinner made, at the cost of more work. And two constructive boys.
I can get dinner made, at the cost of more work. And two constructive boys.

I sent the following email to my younger brother in Africa last week:

I have been sick this week and I have a week and a half left of this pregnancy…

So, I slowly get anything accomplished – including emails.
After waking up today with a weird rash on my arms and legs, fighting a cold and…well, one other thing that left me feeling yucky the words of one of my favorite hymns came into my mind.
 Isn’t it great how the Spirit can bring such things into our remembrance? That’s why studying the things that matter are so important, they are a balm of healing when we are in need.
Anyway, the words to ‘Praise to the Man’ came into my mind, “Sacrifice brings forth the blessings of heaven.” This pregnancy is a great sacrifice for me, some women love this time of creation – I don’t, I don’t love anything about it, except for the blessing that follows – I love my children.
Sacrifice isn’t a sacrifice unless is requires work, patience/long suffering, a bit of discomfort and times where you feel all alone.  It is our own personal mini-Gethsemane that we are called to walk through…though, unlike the Savior, we are not asked to walk it alone. 
I love quiet time with my sons.
I love quiet time with my sons. Wiley loves to “read” Calvin and Hobbs.
I know that I don’t walk this life alone, there have only been moments where I feel really lonely…usually after everyone in the house has gone to bed.
I’m awake, uncomfortable, aching, heartburning (I get nauseated from heartburn), and brain buzzing from the overproduction of hormones.
Half of this year's costumes - Hobbs.
Half of this year’s brother costume – Hobbs.

Although I’m far away from family and my closest friends, I have such a great support group of friends and acquaintances here in Columbia, Missouri – I am very grateful for my life and for the people in it.

Sunday's are the best - everyone usually takes a nap. Blessed Sundays.
Sunday’s are the best – everyone usually takes a nap. Blessed Sundays.

I’m grateful for this yearly time to reflect on the things we are grateful for – because when we stop to count our blessings, especially during times of trials – we can see how much we have.

If you have family or friends who love you like a family – then you are blessed.

now…I just need to remember this every day for the next six days, as I wait for this baby to arrive.

Daddy and Tyler creating art before bed.
Daddy and Tyler creating art before bed.

Peace and Comfort to those of you in this world who are truly suffering – you are in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

