Naming a child, with your spouse.

DSC_0417
Two and a half months. My children all get this look from time to time, I love it.

Dan and I agreeing on a name when I was six months pregnant, was the soonest we decided on a name.

We had driven down to Texas for my sister’s August wedding, so we had ample time to talk names.

On our drive back to Missouri, Danny had his cellphone out and was telling me all the cool bird names he liked (because I really like the name Birdie, and we were trying to find a bird name for awhile).

DSC_0461
Birdie?

I smile when I hear ‘Kestrel’…my youngest sister could have been Kestrel.

So, from Houston, TX to Tulsa, Oklahoma, Danny and I tossed names back and forth.  Separately, he and I decided we liked the name Bell, but not as a first name.

Our little family made a really fast stop in Tulsa to stretch our legs and visit a close friend of mine.

My friend Rachel happens to now work at our alma mater, The University of Tulsa. It being August, the football team was in the middle of their two-a-day practices.

So, our brief stop was in the football training room to catch up with Rachel.

As she and I were catching up, one of the long time Orthopedic Doc’s came into the training room and joined our conversation.

DSC_0477

I think some things are truly meant to be.

Out of no-where, Rachel says to Dr. M, “So Katie and her husband are having a hard time choosing a name for their baby girl.”

Dr. M has been a long time friend of my mother’s family, so when he got a sparkle in his eye and said, “I know a nice name.” I knew he was going to say, “Adrien.”

Dr. M’s wife died of cancer in her early forties, and I have heard, for many years from my Grandmother, what a lovely and gracious lady she was. He never remarried and adopted The University of Tulsa athletics as his family (in addition to his children).

DSC_0495

Rachel and Dr M said how they liked the sound of Adrien (how his wife spelled her name) with our last name.

An hour later, Dan and I back in the truck swapping names again, I asked Danny what he thought of the name Adrien.

He said he liked it!

DSC_0529

Dan looked up the origin of the name, depending on where you look, “dark one” or “one who comes from Adria” which makes way more sense to me.

Adria is on the north eastern coast of Italy, sitting on the Adriatic Sea.

Now that Dan is neck deep with research in Water Engineering, it only makes sense that he said, “if we spell it ‘Adrian’ after the body of water.”

And that is how our sweet little Adrian Bell came to be named.

DSC_0513
Adrian Bell at three months!

Alert, Smiles all day, babbling, a great sleeper (when she isn’t sick) and trying to get up and walk to keep up with the boys.

 

Leave a Reply

