Jumping into Dance Photography

Kiana

Ask anyone, I have terrible rhythm…which is probably why I never became a dancer. But one of the great things in this life, other people (not me people) have talents that I can find joy in.

DSC_0034
I asked this little gal if she wanted to be sweet or sassy…I’m thinking she has both.

[I really can’t understand people who get jealous of other people’s talents…like, h e l l o, why can’t we just get excited and love on the greatness of others?? There is room for everyone to be great.]

You probably know by now I love (slightly obsess over) dance. To me, when I watch, it’s like staring at a beautiful painting or listening to inspiring music. It creates this dream I want to step into.

Hallie
I asked her sister the same question, sweet or sassy? She wanted Sweet.

A month or two ago, a friend asked if I would come take photos for her dance studio, as the studio was gearing up for the ballet Peter Pan.

I was really nervous, as a hobby photographer, to work as a professional. I spoke to a couple of my friends (who make a living taking photos) for some tips.

DSC_0164
Every time I put the camera on this gal, I didn’t have to tell her how to pose, she just did her own thing and I did mine.

I have read quite a bit about photography in the last few years – natural light and studio are two worlds…and then the thing that makes me the most crazy is photography style.

Not everyone has the same taste…

DSC_0316 copy
Again, this ballerina walked up held this pose and i took a few pictures.

In the end, I decided that if parents didn’t like the photos I took this ballet season, they didn’t have to buy any next time. This is my style, take it or leave it.

Also, as a photographer who relies on natural light, I was really nervous about the two days of clouds that darkened the dance studio for portraits.

Zane
This was taken at the very end of the day, when the light was almost gone. I love the dramatic look it gave this last photo.

It is what it is and when picture day was all over, there is beauty in imperfection.

I like my photos and if it happens to make a mother cry, then I’ll consider myself a true professional.

BrantèJefferson 2
Speaking of professional…she’s 15. These two!  They made my job sooo easy. This is a children’s ballet school ya’ll. You want good results? Hire good teachers.

2 thoughts on “Jumping into Dance Photography

  1. As a non-professional photographer, I too get that nervous feeling of whether or not light will be my friend and everything will cooperate for that perfect look- but I feel you can relax and take a breath and know you did a beautiful job, I enjoyed all the posters and pictures; each one unique and expressing each individually- perfect isn’t real😊 Thank you for sharing your talents 💕-
    Sincerely Rebecca

Leave a Reply

