It’s okay to laugh now.

Our Protagonists are fighting the odds, making their way towards the promise that lay in the future…one day at a time.

img_20160821_192042085
Family walks

Can I tell you about the last few months? Then I will tell you about all the beautiful souls who helped us along the way.

Things were supposed to be really good for us, after a tough Spring and Summer, when fall came, everything would be grand. Dan would have this awesome great job and we would buy our first home!!

dsc_6373
My baby girl – how I love you!

It was such a beautiful dream and everything was falling into place – just like dreams do – and God laughed, because like little children we were “asking our mom to open a packet of Ranch dressing mix for us to eat, because it looked so delicious – while she was busy preparing an actual meal for dinner – and she smiled at us and shook her head.”

We had several new families move into our church ‘ward’ this summer and one of those families gave us a huge pile of boxes and paper for wrapping. (then the couple who gave us all the boxes, stayed a little longer and fixed our front door!)

Things are coming together!

dsc_6389
My first born, you’re such a bright and funny boy. You’re also a very dramatic child…like you’re mother.

Ten days before we were to close on the home, Dan’s job didn’t work out, we couldn’t get our home and since we told our current landlord we were “absolutely moving” – he sold the house we were living in…

We had ten days to find a new home, we had a flea infestation, we’re packing, cleaning, looking for a new place to live, Mom got a stomach bug and the steam cleaning vacuum had to be returned three times…because it didn’t work.

dsc_6399
Wiley took this photo! I want to share my love for photographs with him. 🙂

Katie eventually got the steam cleaner to work by turning it on and off again. It worked for a solid 15 minutes…before it didn’t.

and as far as Mom is concerned, fleas are just as nasty as EBOLA!

dsc_6402
My baby just turned 10 months old this last week. [not ready for her to stop being my baby.]
Everything must be washed.

and bug bombed.

washed.

and bug bombed.

Washed.

dsc_6433
pieces of my couch – some parts washed, some not – it’s currently 10:36pm and I still have a few more to go.

This is a sad, and somewhat comical from where I stand now, story of how to clean up after you find your small children covered in flea bites, while you have a stomach bug, during a house move.

Here’s the beautiful part of the story –

The women of the Relief Society. What a relief they have been.

I have had a different woman volunteer to take my children for several hours, each day the last week and a half, offers to bring us meals or help in any other way possible – here’s the kicker – without being asked for help, they just heard we were moving!

dsc_6438
Late night fun! Whoo!

I have a visiting teacher (my previous ones are always missed!) who just moved here not long ago – we had never met – and just after being assigned to visit me, she inquired about me and found out we were moving and took my boys twice in a matter of days into her home (along with her small children) so my husband and I could tackle the cleaning and move.

Then, our home teacher called (again, another new family to the area)! Our home teacher is a new medical resident, his wife stays home with three small kids, and everyone is busy, but they wanted to help us too. Wiley is making lots of new friends.

dsc_6435
None of my children are [ever] ready for bed. 🙂
It felt like our world had turned upside down in a time in our life when I really and truly felt like I had earned some good things in my life.

Today, I see the good things in my life.

We didn’t get the house, he didn’t get the job, we had a lot of extra physical labor and we’re all covered in flea bites…but we have been lifted by heavenly hands and helped by angelic people here in Columbia, Missouri.

It’s been nothing short of a miracle to see this kind of love. We have felt all the prayers said on our behalf and we are grateful.

I know that God is love, and He knows our needs.

img_1487
My family – taken by a friend – capturing our porch garden, the busted front door and mailbox that took on a tree many thunderstorms ago.

I also know it’s a lot harder to feel His love, if we sit and mope about all the things that aren’t going right, so we stand up and move forward with hope.

The cleaning is almost finished and General Conference is this weekend.

img_1602
Next post I need to share the rest of the photos my friend took of the family! Haven’t had much time to go through them, really.

The light is growing.

We’re new to the duplex life – hope the neighbors don’t mind crazy kids…hehehe

Leave a Reply

